colloquium 'Discourse Theory: Ways Forward'

Submitted by on Fri, 08/31/2018 - 14:49
Registration deadline


DESIRE, the centre for the study of Democracy, Signification and Resistance ( is happy to invite you to submit paper proposals for the colloquium 'Discourse Theory: Ways Forward'. The colloquium will take place on 7-8 February 2019 in Brussels. The colloquium starts on Thursday 7 February at 9.00 and ends on Friday 8 February at 17.30. See The aim of the colloquium is to critically and constructively consider where Discourse Theory is at this moment, and to reflect on ways forward for discourse theoretical approaches to society, politics, communication and media. In particular, the colloquium will focus on five topics: 1. The discursive and the material 2. Discourse theoretical perspectives on political economy 3. Discourse theoretical perspectives on health, ageing, and the body 4. Populist discourses and discourses about populism 5. Discourse theory and visuality We invite paper proposals on any of these five topics that are based on a post-structuralist or post-foundationalist discursive approach, broadly defined. The deadline for paper proposals is 30 May 2018. Please send an abstract of around 300 words to Please indicate clearly which of the five topics indicated above your paper fits with. If accepted, full papers of maximum 6000 words are expected by 20 December 2018. Confirmed keynote speakers are Ruth Wodak (Lancaster University/University Vienna) and Michael Freeden (Oxford). Other confirmed speakers so far are (in alphabetical order) Nico Carpentier (Uppsala), Benjamin De Cleen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Edina Doci (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Fani Giannousi (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Jason Glynos (University of Essex), David Howarth (University of Essex), Giorgos Katsambekis (Loughborough University), Pieter Maeseele (Universiteit Antwerpen), Thomas Siomos (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Yannis Stavrakakis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki), Ilija Tomanic-Trivundza (Ljubljana University), Laurens van der Steen (Universiteit Antwerpen), Andreja Vezovnik (Ljubljana University), Savvas Voutyras (University of Essex), and Jan Zienkowski (Université Saint Louis Brussel). The colloquium program committee consists of the chairs of the five institutional members of DESIRE: Benjamin De Cleen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel, colloquium coordinator), Nico Carpentier (Uppsala University), Ilija Tomanić Trivundža (University of Ljubljana), Jason Glynos (University of Essex), Yannis Stavrakakis (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki). The local organizing committee consists of Benjamin De Cleen (coordinator, Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Karel Deneckere and Jana Goyvaerts (Vrije Universiteit Brussel) and Pieter Maeseele (Universiteit Antwerpen).

DESIRE, the centre for the study of Democracy, Signification and Resistance (http:/www./
Contact person
Benjamin De Cleen
Contact person email address